Pontoppidan Lutheran Church Rotating Header Image


Pontoppidan was first organized at a meeting in a Fargo home on Dec. 14, 1877. The name of the congregation was adopted: Pontoppidan Norwegian – Danish Evangelical Lutheran Congregation. The name Pontoppidan was chosen in honor of Bishop Erik Pontoppidan, an author of religious instruction. The name was not a unanimous decision and was later questioned – changing to the First Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Church in Fargo. The name was changed back to Pontoppidan within a month.

The following 25 people were the official charter members:

Peter Kyllo

Hans Knudsen

M. Mortenson

L. Mortenson

Karinius Haugen

H. Anderson

John Jestsen

Sven Johnson

Wm. Wedeen

G. Johnson

M. Strandvold

Lars Pedersen

John Hult

Svan Johnson

O.C. Beck

K. Olsen

A.S. Anderson

Chr. Berg

John Bergquist

Ole Haaden

C. Bjerkean

N. Pederson

Conrad Gron

P. Mikarlsen

Torger Vaag

close window

Service Times & Directions

Weekend Masses in English

Saturday Morning: 8:00 am

Saturday Vigil: 4:30 pm

Sunday: 7:30 am, 9:00 am, 10:45 am,
12:30 pm, 5:30 pm

Weekend Masses In Español

Saturday Vigil: 6:15pm

Sunday: 9:00am, 7:15pm

Weekday Morning Masses

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday: 8:30 am

6654 Main Street
Wonderland, AK 45202
(513) 555-7856